Rainy Day

after sleeping in this morning (catching up on my sleep deficit from the work week and Saturday’s early morning farmers’ market trip), I packed the car and headed out for a little spur-of-the-moment day trip. what began with intentions of spending the day at a park or the beach slowly morphed into a trip further North than my usual PJ Hoffmaster beach location. I found myself en route to Ludington, MI.

shortly before my arrival to the Western coast, it began to sprinkle. but I did not let this stop me from walking out to the lighthouse looking over Lake Michigan. despite the little bit of rain, it was quite fun and a nice place to get away for a bit.

Mary in Ludington, MI

by the time I was headed back in from the pier, the rain had started to pick up a bit, so I decided to head into town to see if there was anything worth doing. turns out, there was not. not even any place that looked worth eating. against my better judgement, I stopped through a McDonald’s drive-thru for a sandwich to tide me over (EW!). I was rewarded for this stupid decision with a free Blueberry-Pomegranate Fruit Smoothie! it was actually very tasty. lucky me!

looking over the map, I was quite close to the Manistee National Forest Area. though it is a very large forest, I was close enough to Manistee, MI itself. so after a little driving, I located a trail-head with a few campsites (only one had anyone at it). so I parked my car and headed out with an umbrella overhead. and it was very beautiful once the rain slowed down and I walked for some time, probably about two miles. though the trail itself spans seven states and is over 3,200 miles long. during our trip, I decided that this Fall I will be heading into the Upper Peninsula to see more National forest areas (this is the only one in the Lower Peninsula).

Manistee National Forest SignTrees in Manistee National Forest

would you like to comment?

