Lazy Sunday

wish I had woken up in the late afternoon because I wasn’t feeling well by the time Sunday morning rolled around. we did kind of eat like idiots over the weekend, so what else was to be expected? but I still wanted to lay about and just pout about it.

instead my mom helped me to finish up the laundry for the week and we made a pie together. although I have made one or two of my Grandma McCully’s pecan pies in the past, the only other pie I’ve ever made is a sweet potato pie. I’m sure I’ve made a pudding pie here or there, but that doesn’t really count. so this was my first “real” pie, meaning a fruit pie. it even had a lattice top crust! my mom and I based our recipe off of a Paula Deen recipe from the Food Network’s website (original recipe here).

Mary's first pie

FOUR BERRY PIE
Ingredients:
– 6 c frozen mixed berries (strawberry, blueberry, raspberry, blackberry)
– 1 c Splenda
– 6 T cornstarch
– 2 Pillsbury refrigerated pie crusts
– 1 egg white
– coarse sugar (for topping)

Directions:
1. preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. move the baking rack to the middle.
2. in a large bowl, toss the berries with the Splenda and cornstarch. let stand, mixing occasionally, 20 minutes.
3. fit one round of pie dough into a 9-in. pie plate. trim edges, leaving a 1/2-inch overhang. refrigerate while continuing. use a pizza cutter to cut the remaining round of dough into approximately 11 strips.
4. spoon the filling mixture into the pie shell. arrange strips over top, crisscrossing as you go to create the lattice pattern. trim any access as needed. roll up the edges and crimp with a fork.
5. beat the egg white lightly and brush over pie crust. this will create a nice shine. dust with a sprinkling of coarse sugar. this will look quite nice!
6. place the pie on a pan to catch any accidental drippings and bake until the filling is bubbling, about 45 minutes to 1 hour. if the crust browns too quickly, cover the browning areas with foil and continue to bake. allow to cool completely before serving.

would you like to comment?

