Birchbox Men – February

1. Number 4 Clarifying Shampoo – The gentlemanly scent of this shampoo was a welcome break from the loud, over-the-top variety that seems to have taken over the store shelves.  My hair didn’t necessarily feel squeaky clean afterwards, but it didn’t feel stripped down to the core either.  $32 for 250ml will likely keep me from making this N.4 shampoo a habit, but it was an enjoyable experience non the less.

2. Number 4 Firm Hold Hair Gel – Wow.  In 13 years of styling my hair both as short and mid length, I have never before crossed paths with a product like this.  Enough hold to keep my course hair controlled and completely frizz free while never being crunchy, sticky, or flaky. I could have gotten away without even rinsing my hands after styling. $32 for 5.1oz seems a bit steep, but it goes a long way. I’ve used the .25oz sample 3 times and I’m approx half-way through it. Rough maths would suggest you can get ~122 uses out of the bottle making it about a quarter a use.  Depending on how painful the switch back to my previous daily product is, I just may pick up a bottle.

3. John Allan’s Cool Face – Being a man of minimal body & facial hair, I’ve never had much of a problem with post-shave irritation.  I had never used an after shave before as I’ve never felt the need to buy one. This was a welcome opportunity and overall enjoyable.  It was essentially like putting on a very light moisturiser with a mild, clean scent and slight cooling sensation. At $23 for a seemingly lifetime supply (see minimal facial hair), it seems like a good deal that I’ll likely pass on.

4. BENTA BERRY Super Moisturizing Face Cream – I would give this moisturizer a solid “ok”. While I appreciated the non-oily and creamy consistency, the more than slight soapy scent was less than pleasant. At $20 for 30ml, I’d pass this one up.

5. John Varvatos Artisan (Cologne) – I really like this. The smell is slightly fruity and slightly woody in a really good way. It’s very fresh smelling and not at all musky. You won’t smell like your father. Somewhat inexplicably, I felt like this smell really represented where I’m at in life. I’m young, relaxed, and trying to do my own thing, but I can also be serious and want to be respected. At $82 for a generous portion, this would make a great gift for your man.  Nudge nudge, wink wink 😉

6. The Knottery (Knit Tie) – In case you haven’t noticed, knit ties are kind of a big deal right now. Indeed, I had been longing for one myself. That’s why I was pleasantly surprised to find one in my Birchbox! Mine is dark, dark navy blue with a square, ivory tip. Very stylish and the build quality seems exceptional thus far. A+.

2 thoughts on “Birchbox Men – February

    • strangemaryjane says:

      hey Kristin, my boyfriend really liked this box; I got him 3 months for Valentine’s Day. he ended up loving some of the hair products and may actually switch to them. and based on his excitement over the tie, I’d say that it made February’s men’s box worth $20 by itself. whether the subscription is worth $20 per month in general, we’ll have to wait for the next box and see! I will have him post his review of March’s box when it comes so you can access if it’s something you are still thinking about for your bf too. thanks for your comment! – Mary

      Like

would you like to comment?

