Warming Up at Jacques Torres

once the sun set on the City, Manhattan gets pretty cold in January. I had recently discovered the award-winning chocolate shop Jacques Torres Chocolate. Conde Nast Traveler magazine said their classic hot chocolate is among the best there is. I don’t even care much for hot chocolate at all, but this was like heaven… heaven in a little travel cup. the location I visited was on Hudson at King, but they have a few others throughout the city (I heard them say that the one in DUMBO is closed, which the website doesn’t indicate, by the way).

although the hot chocolate was rich, I was certain I’d want something for a later time, so I got a chocolate chip cookie for the next day, a box of chocolates that I customized, and a pack of dark chocolate-dipped orange peels. HEAVEN, I TELL YOU, HEAVEN!

Lovebugs is white chocolate with a kiss of lime. the starry dark chocolate piece is pistachio marzipan.

would you like to comment?

