Coney Island

 

on Saturday, I made the long subway journey to Coney Island. the weather in Manhattan was significantly cooler than the coast of Brooklyn, so I was a bit warm during my stay. the beach was completely overrun. I knew that it would be busy, but I just couldn’t believe the sheer number of people I saw there! additionally, I was under the impression that there was a pier similar to the Santa Monica pier. this was not accurate. there is a long pier there, as seen in several movies, but there is nothing on it (except benches and some coverings made for shade). a lot of people were laying out on it and fishing from it. whereas the Santa Monica pier has some carnival rides and vendors on it, Coney Island’s rides and vendors are along a boardwalk that lines the beach. it was really cool and felt old-school. I had a really nice time walking up and down both the boardwalk and pier.

would you like to comment?

