Too Faced Tinted Beauty Balm

I think this is my new favorite beauty balm! I’ve tried a handful of Too Faced products throughout the past couple of years and haven’t stuck with any of them, having always found something better or a need to try something new (I do really like their mascara, which is called Lashgasm, but I’ve got loads of other mascaras to use up at the moment to buy any more).

though I’m not sure where I got it from, I somehow wound up with a deluxe-sized sample of this beauty balm. and I used it up entirely because the color happened to be a good match for my skin. that sample had lasted a pretty long time, so I had forgotten how the previous product I’d used had looked and felt. once I finished, I moved onto another deluxe sample, but discarded it because of the thick texture. and then I tried another, which was alright, but made me shinier than I would have liked. and then came another, which was too red or too blue for my skin (I have an olive and slightly gold tone). so that went into the garbage too. and I just keep thinking of this beauty balm by Too Faced.

so I caved in and purchased a full-sized tube from Sephora (you can get yours here) for $34. yes, that does seem rather expensive, I know. even though I was a little hesitant at the price, I went with the purchase anyway because I needed to have a beauty balm that I liked (I use it as a foundation, so this is the color that goes on my face and it’s important that it’s a good match and doesn’t look like makeup). because it was an online purchase, I wasn’t sure how much makeup would be in a 1.5 oz tube. when it arrived in the mail, I was pleasantly surprised – it’s huge! this is definitely going to last me for a lonnnnng time.

the color I use is called creme glow. this is a light beige with gold undertones (according to Sephora). I like this beauty balm because it is somewhat transparent – it allows my natural skin to show through, but is tinted enough to help hide any imperfections (like how incredibly uneven my skin tone is). while it doesn’t provide enough coverage to be used as a concealer, it’s my go-to face product otherwise. it’s not greasy, it doesn’t make me shiny as the day wears on, and it doesn’t cause me to break-out (I have semi-oily skin on my nose and am prone to breakouts from heavy makeup, dirty makeup brushes, etc.). there is little-to-no fragrance.

to apply this beauty balm, I like to mix it in a 1-to1 ratio with a facial lotion. I’m currently using a sample of Murad’s “Oil Control Matifier”. I mix them together on the back of my hand and apply with a damp beauty blender sponge. about the size of two pencil erasers, each. I do this because I feel like I don’t get adequate moisturizer action from just applying my facial lotion after the shower or washing my face. it also gives me a first coat of moisturizer to places like around my eyes, which only got serums or treatments after the shower or washing my face. and it makes the product just a little more transparent, which is good for me in the summer time especially, when I’ve got a little bit of a tan going on.

however, this is still a great beauty balm without mixing in any lotion. it works well over a primer or without. I’ve used benefit cosmetics’ The Porefessional and Garnier’s Skin Renew 5 Second Blur Instant Smoother under it; both worked well. I’ve also applied a bit of powder over top (usually to just my nose, to further control shininess – I get so shiny no matter what WAHHH). I’ve used bareMinerals’ matte foundation powder, Make Up For Ever’s HD Microfinish powder, and benefit cosmetics’ The Porefessional Agent Zero Shine. all of these worked well – no clumping and no creasing.

in summary, this is my favorite beauty balm to date.

would you like to comment?

