Currently Crushing On…

flats: the FELIZE in Raspberry by M. Gemi | bangle: As Good As Gold by kate spade new york | tote: Reversible Vegan Leather Tote & Wristlet (wristlet not pictured) by Street Level | jacket: Four-Pocket Military Jacket by Kersh | oxford: Ribbon Trim Oxford by Lands’ End | lipstick: New Nudes Sheer Lip Gel in “Strange Magic” by Marc Jacobs Beauty | lip set: 5 Night Fix for Lips by Bite Beauty

do you feel the itch to update your wardrobe for spring? because I do. I totally do. over the last month, the weather in new york has been steadily improving. and just today we hit temperatures in the 80’s for the first time. while that was unexpected, it was certainly welcome. the warm breeze rolling through my apartment today was a vast improvement over the 40-degree day we had about a week ago.

because of spring’s flip-flopping mood swings, I’m expecting layers to be the easiest route to remaining comfortable on a day-to-day basis. so I totally love this olive military-inspired jacket by Kersh. not too heavy, but an added layer for when the clouds roll in or you’re walking on the shady side of the road. AND IT IS UNDER $100! imagine how cute could it be with a pop of coral or pale blue. like this classic oxford from Lands’ End, which I recently bought and am IN LOVE WITH. everyone needs to have a basic oxford in their closet – this one is great.

do you love these loafers from M. Gemi? they are so fabulous and, honestly, it was love at first sight. they’re a classic sort of item, but because of their color (they come in several colors), they can totally add an unexpected bright pop to an outfit. I would love to pair these with a crisp pair of white skinny jeans or a pale distressed pair of boyfriend jeans.

of course spring means the approach of summer, eventually. and that’s an excuse for me to change out my lip colors. I’m a sucker for a good coral-nude and can’t wait to try out the New Nudes Sheer Lip Gel by Marc Jacobs. “Strange Magic” seems like it would be a good match for my light olive skin, especially once I can manage to get some sun (is tanning an acceptable use for a fire escape?). and no lip is ready for lipstick without prepping first. if you had the same winter I had in new york, then you were cold and dry. very cold and dry (radiators are not on my nice list). what totally saved my lips was Bite’s “5 Night Lip Fix”. this set includes their lip scrub stick to buff your lips and their regular lip mask. the scrub is decent, but the mask is the real life-saver (you can buy a larger size of it alone, here). I put a little on at night before bed and it stays put! in the morning, I have totally moisturized lips which are ready for lipstick.

spring doesn’t just mean a change in my makeup – I also tend to gravitate more towards gold and rose gold accessories too. this is because it seems to add to your overall glow in the warmer weather, especially with a bit of a tan. I’m a HUGE fan of kate spade new york and this thick gold bangle would be a nice addition to my collection. great worn in a stack or all on its own.

lastly, the perfect new tote for hauling around said layers and makeup! plus all of the other items I seem to need when I’m running around the city. this blush tote from Street Level was a recommended item from Nordstrom and I’m glad I took at look at it even though I totally don’t NEED another bag right now. that’s so not an important factor because it’s totally cute for spring and would match so many outfits. because it’s not real leather (“vegan leather” – what a clever way to say “fake leather”, right?), this bag is presently under $50, which makes it totally budget friendly and crush-worthy.

would you like to comment?

